Cottonwood Almond Stout

In an act of pure love and utter selflessness, my oldest brother gave me a year’s subscription to a Beer of the Month Club. I am to receive two six packs of new brews each month. This month, one of the sixers was Cottonwood Almond Stout. The name intrigued me as I’d never heard of Almond being used before.

Carolina Beer Co.
Mooresville, NC
Almond Stout

Cracking the bottle, you instantly get a whiff of the eponymous almonds. The beer pours very dark brown, nearly black, with a thin tan head that didn’t hang around. Once in the glass, the almonds really come out along with a sweet malty smell and a hint of smoke. The carbonation was low and the mouth feel was a bit thin and on the sides of the tongue. There was a hint of creaminess but most flavor and refinement was lost to the overwhelming taste of almonds.

Not a terrible brew for a cold winter’s night, but I’d stick to yellow cap Guinness if given the option. I’ll have to revisit this when I haven’t prefaced the sampling with a couple of Dale’s Pales.

Leave a Reply

